Voyager Prime

So I finally found Voyager Prime after months and months of zilch. The thing about these sorts of figures, I’m realizing, is that you have to go to a Wal-Mart or a Fred Myer or even a KMart if you want them. Target and Toys ‘R Us just have a million Leader Megatrons, Voyager Megatrons, Voyager Bulkheads and a ton of Ratchets, Bumblebees and Black Arachnias. It’s the stores that you really don’t think about that have a good variety of the figures instead of a billion of the same dude.

I have to say that, like the first girl I dated, the payoff wasn’t really worth the wait. I mean, Voyager Prime’s okay but he’s pretty underwhelming overall. There’s nothing really special about him. This got me thinking about all the various Optimus Prime incarnations that we’ve seen (and in my case bought) over the years and how they’re all pretty much the same damn figure. I mean, you can take away the mouthpiece or have him turn into different kinds of trucks and give him a more aggressive/futuristic armor design but in the end he still pretty much looks exactly the same with the red chest, blue legs and blue helmet.

You can bitch and complain and say what you want about the Car Robot/RiD Optimus Prime (or “Fire Convoy”) being radically different from the previous Prime’s but I personally think that’s what really made that figure one of my favorite Transformer figures that’s been released in the last ten or fifteen years. I mean, even Spider-Man got a new look from time to time. Sameness just equals lameness to me.

That’s also why I, unlike most of the other people my age or older who grew up with the G1 toys, liked the more “techno-organic” design Prime had in the Bay movie. They could have just pandered to the G1 Wankers by making him look exactly like he did in the cartoon (and this clip proves it would have worked if they wanted to go that route) but they decided to update him and make him unique and that’s something I really liked (though I, like most of the fanboys, hated the idea of changing Prime’s design initially).

I also really love the Ultra Magnus repaints as well. The convoy design might look pretty cool with the red and blue colors but the Convoy design with the white and blue colors is just FUCKING SWEET. A Black Prime (that isn’t Nemesis Prime) would be a cool reinterpretation of the character as well.

So yeah, all in all I think I’d say he’s maybe $15 cool but I don’t know if he’s $20 (retail price) or $40 (eBay price) cool. Maybe that’s just me though as I’m not much of a Prime wanker anymore.

Leave a Reply

