SDCC: Day One

So today was the “preview night” at the SDCC and I have to say that if the rest of the convention is like tonight, I’m probably going to make this my first and last SDCC.

Apparently 100,000 tickets were sold for the event. That’s fine and that’s to be expected but…damn. Did every fucking attendee have to come tonight? I mean, I know that the convention was going to be packed but I didn’t think the fucking three hour PREVIEW night would have like fifty or sixty-thousand people there. Needless to say, I wasn’t too happy about the crowds being there on a night where nothing major was going on.

In the end though I don’t think it was the crowds that pissed me off as much as it was Sideshow screwing the attendees over. I think that’s really what set me off and pissed me off.

I’ll explain: a couple of toy companies, as I’m sure you all know, offer exclusives to Comic Con Attendees and Sideshow was offering the 12” Aayla Secura that I really wanted to get. So I get to the Sideshow booth, I see a couple of Aayla Secura figures behind the counter and figure “Great, I got here just in time.” So I ask this woman if I could buy one and she said “We’re sold out.” She goes on to explain: “We actually aren’t selling these to attendees. You have to preorder the figures on our website before you get to the con and we’re all sold out.”
All I really have to say is this: WHAT THE FUCK? That’s the stupidest thing I’ve ever heard and that’s a horrible thing to do to the attendees who didn’t know that you had to pre-order the figure and couldn’t just buy it at the con. Why even call it a Comic Con exclusive when really it’s just another bullshit “internet exclusive?” So yeah, that really pissed me the fuck off to the point where I really don’t want to have anything to do with Sideshow Toys ever again after I get the Indy figure I preordered a while ago.

So yeah, that just wasn’t cool to me at all. The lady did tell me that I could possibly get one on Sunday though because some people “just don’t pick up their preorders.” So apparently they’re equal opportunity “screwer over” people and are just as happy to fuck over the pre-order crowd as much as they are the people who just want to pay in person.

As much as I hate Sideshow for screwing me out of the one fucking exclusive I really wanted, I do have to say they had some cool busts there:

Still though, the whole thing about the figure just pisses me off and makes me feel a little sick.

I guess seeing Ultra Magnus at the Hasbro stands made me feel a little better though:

And yeah, I know, not the best quality picture in the world but there were a lot of pushy people around so I didn’t really have time to take a better shot. Maybe tomorrow.

So hopefully I will have some better luck with being able to buy the toys and stuff I want to buy at the con tomorrow. I don’t know. One can hope.

Leave a Reply

