We’re in the Impossible Business here…

One of the cool things about being a crack buyer is that I have a couple of friends who are in the “crack buying business” as well.

Anyway, this buddy of mine told me “You better get Stealth Bumblebee from a Collectibles show or online because he’ll never see retail release.”

“Why is that?” I ask. So my friend launches into an epic explanation that goes something like this: “Hasbro isn’t going to send the last waves of the Transformers movie line to retail stores because the retail stores have boxes and boxes and boxes of unsold Transformers toys in the back and Hasbro isn’t happy about that.”

Apparently my friend heard this from a vendor at this collectibles show he goes to every weekend. I, being the cynic that I am, pretty much said “I think the dude’s wrong. I’ve heard about people getting Stealth Bumblebee and the last figures in the Transformers movie line.” My friend, however, didn’t agree. It was almost as if he thought finding Stealth Bumblebee in the stores was an impossible mission along the lines of finding evidence that proves Michael Jackson is straight.

So I’m strolling through the Target the other night and…what happens? What do I see?

Yeah, that’s right. I found him. I mean, I don’t like to be an “I told you so” guy but, then again, I love to be an “I told you so” guy. I don’t know why. I guess I’m a jerk in that respect. I don’t know.

I don’t really blame my friend here or think he’s foolish for pretty much saying the mission was impossible. No, I blame the vendor and the other people online at different Transformers sites for perpetuating the “Hasbro won’t send the retail stores the last figures” rumor (and I’ve heard that rumor a couple of times now and there’s something about the sheer stupidity of it that just kind of annoys me).

So…yeah. Here at Transformers and Other Plastic Crack we aim to do the impossible. Name a figure in any of the latest Transformers line that’s impossible to find and I bet you I can probably get ’em for you.

When it’s all said and done though I’m not going to be opening Stealth Bumblebee seeing as how I already have two variations of the 09 Camaro mold (Bumblebee and Cliffjumper) and I’d rather just take advantage of the good markup he’s getting on eBay someday and sell him there.

4 comments on “We’re in the Impossible Business here…

  1. I love how the theory refers to Hasbro as a singular omniscient entity that gets “happy” or “sad”. Hasbro here sounds like old testament god, dealing out punishments because the toy retailers have not made the necessary goat sacrifices. AND IT IS WRITTEN THAT ALMIGHTY HASBRO SAW THAT THEY WERE WICKED, AND SO HE DENIETH THEM PLENTIFUL STEALTH BUMBLEBEES.

  2. REPENT, O SINFUL STOCKBOYS, LEST THINE SHELVES NOT RECEIVETH THE LAST WAVE OF REAL GEAR ROBOTS!

  3. BLESSED ARE THEY WHO DO NOT SEE TRANSFORMERS:ANIMATED FIGURES AT STORES YET STILL PREORDER THEM FROM HASBROTOYSHOP.COM

  4. Yeah, as I said, the whole “angry Hasbro” theory just doesn’t really register with me which is why I thought that it was ridiculous when people where like “No! We won’t get our crappy ‘premium’ repaints!”

Leave a Reply

