Wow! Universe Prowl is just so…just so…hey! Wait a minute. He actually…he actually…he actually sucks. Wow. I didn’t think he’d look that…look that…crappy.

I was always happy with my toys when I was a kid. I guess I had my “toy geek” blinders on. I never really noticed that the toys often looked bland compared to the “box/card art.” I didn’t really know what I know now.

And what do I know now? I know that most action figures look really crappy compared to their
prototypes. This isn’t anything new. This has been happening since action figures really started to get popular in the sixties and seventies. It’s just…I don’t know. I guess I didn’t realize how bad certain figures looked compared to their respective prototypes until the last Toybiz Marvel Legends hit the shelves a year or two ago. (I also noticed it with the cross-eyed Mr. Fantastic when the first Fantastic Four movie toys came out a couple of years ago but I really don’t want to get into how much that line really sucked.)

I’ve been collecting Transformers since the G1 era but I guess I never really realized how awesome the pictures of the toys looked compared to the actual products until I saw the pictures of Ultimate Bumblebee compared to the actual toy. I mean, the toy was cool and all and I actually consider it to be the holy grail of the movie series but it just doesn’t really live up to the amazing pics we all saw over the summer.

So what’s the point of all this ranting on my part? Well? I just saw some OOP pics of Universe Prowl and…wow. I can’t put my finger on just what is off on this figure compared to the amazing box art shot we got a while back but…I don’t know. It just looks really crappy.

So judge for yourselves and tell me if I’m wrong or right here. Here’s the prototype pic..

Compared to the actual toy:

Granted these are pretty small photos but…I don’t know. After seeing this HORRIBLE picture of an actual Universe Prowl figure a month or two ago I really don’t have high hopes that the Universe line will really look as great as the prototypes.

See, I would be fine with the final toys not looking as great as the prototypes if that ends up happening. It doesn’t bother me that the toys don’t really look that much like the prototypes right now. It’s the fact that they really don’t look ANYTHING NEAR as detailed or as cool as the prototypes that gets to me. Minor tweaks from the prototypes here and there are okay and are expected but…to photoshop (and I’m about 90% sure they used photoshopped colors on the prototype picture at this point) a picture and make us all think that’s what we’re going to end up with…I don’t know. That’s just a really insulting and fucked up thing for Hasbro to do to the collectors in my opinion. Instead of writing the “Final products may vary” thing next to the photos they may as well write “FINAL PRODUCTS WILL LOOK LIKE CRAPPY ‘World’s Smallest Transformers’ KOs and you are looking at a photoshopped picture now you stupid dumbass” next to any pictures they publish in toy magazines.

I mean…don’t get me wrong…I’ll probably end up buying Universe Prowl. It’s just…just once I would like to get a really articulated and detailed Prowl that really accurately represents the way the character looked in the original series. I thought it would happen with the Alternators Prowl after seeing how awesome the Binaltech version looked but…nope. We ended up with the weird color scheme for Prowl’s legs that made him look like “jean chaps” Prowl” in the end. Damn Hasbro. I think it’s almost always going to be Takara>Hasbro for me.

3 comments on “Wow! Universe Prowl is just so…just so…hey! Wait a minute. He actually…he actually…he actually sucks. Wow. I didn’t think he’d look that…look that…crappy.

  1. Yeahhhh…. those newer Universe pics make him look very Transformers: Energon, doesn’t he?

    Very disappointing. Well, at least the Animated toys look cool.

  2. Yanno, to be fair the product shot was photoshopped to look awesome, but the linked photo you showed was very badly transformed. I’ve got the Prowl toy too, and he does look just like the product photo, just without the photoshopped lighting on the figure.

Leave a Reply

